V for Vegetarian

April 25, 2008 at 1:25 pm 4 comments

Over the last few months I’ve chosen not to eat meat. With the shrink-wrapped, evenly-pigmented meat found in American supermarkets, one could be forgiven for thinking that chicken breasts grow on trees. But in Nepal meat occupies messy roadside counter tops and it is hard to avoid knowing that eating meat is a bloody business.

In Accham, I find it even harder to be a meat eater. I will admit that the meat here is of poor quality, with lots of bone, gristle and skin in the `meat’. But the I’m-eating-a-sentient-being part of the reason for going veg, is even more for convincing for me after interacting with some of the many domestic animals around here.

For instance, I came across a cute goat kid (below) on a hike to the abandoned hospital in Bayalpata.

Santosh, one of the clinic staff members, showed us how playful goat kids can be. Press a palm against their heads and they will happily engage in a head-butting contest. I couldn’t imagine eating the kid or one of his relatives after that.

Although giving up meat is good for health (and for the environment), I began losing weight on my all veg diet. Part of it is also that Accham is a very poor region so there are only few different types of nutritious foods available here. I’ve added milk and eggs to my diet and started snacking often in between our two meals a day. My weight seems to have stabilized now. Given the poor food situation here, the rescue package (pictured below) from my parents recently was particularly welcome. mmmm!

No laundry at the river tomorrow so I’m going to spend all day relaxing on our terrace. Have a good weekend everyone!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Drokpa’s got a brand new tent 24 hours with a government doctor…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. p  |  April 26, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    you make a nice case for vegetarianism. i’ve been thinking about making the switch too, but am worried that i’ll get hungry too easily and suffer from constant low blood sugar. the best bet for me, i think, is to become a “flexetarian” (eating mostly vegetarian, but including a little meat for protein).

    maybe a later entry on nutritious vegetarian snacks and dishes? i hope you’ll be doing a lot of cooking this fall. i formally make a request for daal makhani.

    no pringles!

    Reply
  • 2. Yi-Ling  |  April 28, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    So basically you’re saying…you don’t eat animals because they’re cute?!

    Reply
  • 3. nawang  |  April 28, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    Your post reminded me of a quote from the indefatigable Homer Simpson: “If God didn’t want us to eat animals, why did he make them out of meat?”

    Reply
  • 4. keshuvko  |  August 17, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Even I am a veggie. 🙂

    Read this post as well if you have time: http://keshuvko.wordpress.com/2006/02/12/4/

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get updates via e-mail

Feeds