Crazy drokpa in San Francisco

March 25, 2011 at 9:55 pm 6 comments

I step out onto the fire escape from my 4th floor bedroom for some fresh nighttime air. To preserve what little warmth was being thrown off by my Californian energy-efficient heater, I push the window back in. A few minutes later and I’m tugging at the window to open it; gently at first but harder and harder as I grow more worried. At one point I realize that if the window opened suddenly, it would be a short lived victory as I tumbled backward over the low railing of the fire escape. Positioning myself more safely, I continue pulling on the window and then try the adjacent windows in vain. My thoughts alternate between ways to get back into the apartment and the specter of ending my short spell on earth while executing one of these maneuvers less than skillfully. In the end I decide tonight is going to be my introduction to The Fire Escape.

I start climbing down the steps, getting glimpses into warm, well lighted living rooms along the way. Thankfully no one notices me. The steps seem to end on the first floor but then I notice the accordion-style final section of the fire escape and some straightforward instructions for lowering it to the ground. After unwinding the cables for a while, I release the lever to lower the ladder faster. Bad idea. Throwing my hands into the path of the wildly unwinding lever, I manage to avoid having the ladder crash loudly onto the ground. Thankfully I had reacted quickly enough that the unwinding hadn’t picked up enough speed to break any bones. I begin climbing down this final set of steps.

“What are you doing?” someone shouts.

“Got locked out of my apartment. Have to get back in this way.” I reply calmly.

“What apartment are you in?”

Not wanting this little incident reported to my landlord I respond with, “Don’t worry about it, not a big deal.”

“I’m the building manager,” he says.

Oops.

I explain what happened and that I’m just going to use my keys to get back in from the ground floor. Maybe he thought I was a burglar before? I’m now on ground level and there is a door here but no keyhole. I explain this to the Super. He says probably the easiest way is for me to get back in through his apartment. I climb back up the fire escape to the first floor. The Super asks me to pull the ladder back up…quite a workout and just deserts for my shenanigans I suppose.

“Not the best of circumstances to meet but I’m…,” I offer, after entering his apartment through the window. He doesn’t respond, not to be rude I think. Maybe he is just too startled by this crazy guy standing in front of him. I apologize for disturbing him, offer thanks and exit the apartment.

The middle window is the guilty one

Share on Facebook

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

If you could meet anyone…

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tenzin Shakya  |  March 25, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    haha wow, didn’t think of you to be this adventurous! Glad to read it though, sounds like tons of fun. Too much hilarity in the manner you met your building manager. Loved it! I would caution you next time to make sure that the fire escape actually works, because many of the SF apartments, (like my old one) was seriously for decoration… it didn’t work but it was surely hanging half way down the building like it’s meant for an escape haha. Fun read.

    Reply
    • 2. drokpa  |  March 27, 2011 at 11:51 pm

      happy we’ve cleared up another misconception Wangmo…just kidding 🙂 glad you enjoyed the post, thanks for the comment!

      Reply
  • 3. Laundromat  |  March 26, 2011 at 11:31 am

    Hilarious… every twist and turn in this story is cracking me up. Well you got to your apartment finally… must say lovely view from that window of yours 🙂

    Never knew you had a blog. Will read the other postings too. Keep writing.

    Reply
  • 4. Nirwan  |  May 12, 2011 at 8:42 am

    Hostel trained you well (lies/bluffing included). Keep up the writing, look forward to the next post.

    Reply
    • 5. drokpa  |  May 16, 2011 at 6:22 pm

      Hostel certainly was good training for shenanigans of all sorts 🙂 Glad you enjoyed the post! once work slows down I’m hoping to write more.

      Reply
  • 6. Poonam Singh  |  February 26, 2012 at 5:00 am

    Hey Drokpa,

    I happened to read something in your blog that you wrote 5 years ago. Please do check my response to it.
    Poonam.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get updates via e-mail

Feeds